Applications for our current presentation are currently closed. Please check our application page for more details. Read more

Course reviews

header-tear Created with Sketch.

4.59/5 (56 ratings)

Startup School

Course reviews

Many of our entrepreneurs have reviewed and rated the Entrepreneurship Course, read the reviews below.

the experience and knowledge gain from entrepreneuship course was priceless


Sakadzo Magombedze

07 Aug 2018

They have tried to make it as practical as possible and this has largely wotked. The weekly assignments makes sure that you are investing in your business which means you have to make the business a part of your life which is one of the most important lessons I learnt. I do think the part where you have to speak with your peers doesn’t work so well as people just share their opinions but no one really challenges each other. Nothing wrong with challenging people’s ideas The content can be all over the place as it points to you a lot of different methods . I think there is opportunity for change here. Else I found it extremely useful


Kgothatso Matau

06 Aug 2018

Excellent,informative content,easy to understand,efficient, was able to submit assigments online with ease


Tasneem Dudhia

06 Aug 2018

Course was very well layed out and structured


Rodney Louis

06 Aug 2018

Would be great if you arrange mentors for everyone even if it's just virtual mentorship platform. otherwise brilliant course and easy to navigate system


Skhulile Ndlovu

06 Aug 2018

Startup School is an intense Business Administration crash course! The content and activities of the course helped me to properly structure my business and focus on the fundamental basics that will enable me to run a sustainable business. I will forever be grateful for the opportunity and I am confidently looking forward to success!


Bajabulile Gigaba

03 Aug 2018

A step closer to entrepreneural adaptive learning. Keep up the great work.


Sikho Msomi

02 Aug 2018

Great content. Really valuable experience. I recommend this course for anyone wanting to get start with a new business or if scaling up an existing endeavour.


Robin O'Brien

02 Aug 2018

Brilliant course and content. Excellent facilitation. Really helped my startup and I highly recommend this course.


Lynton Naicker

02 Aug 2018

This is an excellent course which combines both theory and practice in a well-balanced manner. I highly recommend it for anyone who is thinking of going into business.


Yongama Njisane

02 Aug 2018

The course was very intense and thorough. I definitely have taken a lot of the learnings into not only my everyday business life but my life as a whole. This course requires you to use your initiative to learn more and dig deeper into the content to get the most value out of it. At surface level it scratches the upper levels of business and guides you to have a solid foundation. If you want to succeed you need to put this into action and this takes time. Note down what you need and revisit it often. Dig deep into the learnings and find the value that you need. My value will be different to yours but SUS give you the chance to explore the most important items and help you figure this out for yourself. This has definitely added value to my business life.


Sean Dixon

01 Aug 2018

It was a great learning experience. The tools and guidance that were provided are invaluable. From policies all the way to sales. It's fundamental for any start-up keep up the good work.


Brian Ramufhufhi

31 Jul 2018

It was a great journey I'm currently implementing most strategies if not all that I have learnt throughout the course and even though not many doors have opened, but the reception is great , investors do give me a second So thank you Investec and StartUp School for my passport to success


VUYISILE ROWLAND MAYEGISO

31 Jul 2018

It's an amazing course with great content really it's just the execution but there can be improvement in that. Thank Tanya and Jackie for the opportunity.


Nkosingiphile Mvubu

31 Jul 2018

Before, I had a plan, which I believed could work, but it was never going to get much bigger than a micro business! Thanks to this course, I have a robust, well-conceived and detailed business plan, a clear understanding of my vision, UVP and goals, and a plan on how to upscale into a large, viable business. Loved, loved, loved the Entrepreneurship Course!


Bronwyn Redding-Jones

31 Jul 2018

The entrepreneurship course was a great stepping stone to higher levels of entrepreneurial endeavours, I encourage all those who embark on the entrepreneurial journey to take advantage of it and now.


Lungani Dlamini

31 Jul 2018

Good generic exposure to starting up a business


Luther Diedericks

30 Jul 2018

There can still be improvement for everything


Tshepang Peme

30 Jul 2018

I've learned a lot from this program.my business is growing day by day.im 100% ready to face the world.Ive opened a new office last week.Things are happening.


Nkosinathi THABETHE

30 Jul 2018

Good challenging course. If you plan on doing it make sure your social diary is free for the next 12 weeks (or make time during your work diary!)


Adam Kinder

30 Jul 2018

I came from a different region to South Africa looking for opportunities and this is my first business related one. It was a great content and opportunity, I leaned a lot about a field that I had no clue about and I got to know great people, great course!


Sameh M. AbuRadi

06 Aug 2018

Great experience and great coaches... Given another chance, i would do this course over and over again


Nobunhle Mathonsi

06 Aug 2018

Started the course thinking it would only be “business” making money systems and all that profit based work. Little did I know this course was built around the entire entrepreneurial mindset from learning the admin work that everyone hates doing,to working with people and realizing actually what type of entrepreneurial mindset you possess and how to harness it and how to bring it out whether in corporate or in your own business:):) TRULY AMAZING GO FOR IT AND KEEP LEARNING AND EXPAND YOUR HORIZON.


Thapelo Rampolokeng

06 Aug 2018

The Startup school has been an incredible learning platform over the past 12 weeks. It has taught me valuable lessons on entrepreneurship and how to convert and execute an idea into a viable business model that is scalable going forward. I would highly recommend this course to any aspiring entrepreneurs. Thank you to the team for guiding us through this fantastic course.


Murray Charter

06 Aug 2018

The course was very informative and insightful, the content is was a bit intense especially for someone who doesn’t have enough time during the day, it teaches one to make time no matter how little just so you can get work done, its a bit impersonal especially if its your first time doing an online course, great initiative and thank you for the opportunity, I hope this will just be extended to many others. Tanya “my coach’ was great and very understanding, though I must admit I didn’t utilize her as much as I should’ve, thanks to INVESTEC for helping to create employers, instead of employees.


Tshepo Khoza

04 Aug 2018

Well structured


Benjamin Constable

03 Aug 2018

"A true entrepreneur is a doer, not a dreamer"...Startup School facilitates the doing! An incredible and empowering experience to understand and bring to the surface the entrepreneurial spirit within you.


Dustin Naidoo

02 Aug 2018

The course is fantastic and relevant, Investec and the startup school should consider facilitating this course with high school pupils to give them the opportunity to consider entrepreneurship in view of the unemployment rate. The what’s up leg of the course is redundant and should be discontinued because I can engage the course administrators via the school’s message board. Thanks bye.


Mabatho Elizabeth Kgariya

02 Aug 2018

Was worth every penny


Thabiso Mofokeng

02 Aug 2018

So grateful for this opportunity. The program has renewed my mind, gave me practical exercises that have helped my business take shape.


SIYASANGA GABAYI

01 Aug 2018

I learnt a lot about how to start, run and grow a business in 12 weeks.


MLUNGISI DLAMINI

31 Jul 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and was empoered with the knowledge I acquired while being enrolled within the Investec Start-Up School programme.


Andile Pascal Tshuluba

31 Jul 2018

in Xhosa there is a saying that says " inyathi ibuzwa kwabaphambhili" it means the way is asked from those who have walked it, so the course represented that, it is well organised with good readings and lessons from other entrepreneurs the weekly task are insightful and can be implemented immediately. i have gained a lot in this 12 weeks so wish there can be a later version. this is a course designed to make a difference, I will be an ambassador. this course is a hustlers dream come true. keep it up!!


Siyabonga Chris Stanley Pamla

31 Jul 2018

Great online course that further develops entrepreneurs of all standards. Informative and interesting work that can be managed whilst working 9 - 5. Friendly staff whom are happy to help


Timothy Germani

31 Jul 2018

The program is really an incredible experience. One gets to learn more about the internal character traits needed to withstand the challenges of this journey. Also find creative solutions to the problems within the company you are building. It teaches you to be purposeful about what you are doing and find your why. Everything else becomes secondary and mere steps to get to the ultimate why... I’d recommend this course to any entrepreneur who is willing to commit themselves to at least 60hrs a week of pure content and learning. It’s so worth it. You come out a different person.


Palesa Moloi

31 Jul 2018

I found the course very valuable as it kept me accountable for my progress for the full twelve weeks. The content is useful and it's up to you to make what you want of it. I still find myself going back to read up on some sections.


Warren Handley

30 Jul 2018

Absolutely recommend this for anyone starting or in the beginning years of their business. I learnt such a lot!


Sadiyah Mosam

30 Jul 2018

It’s great to have an entrepreneurship course that can work for busy professionals. The course is short enough that it doesn’t completely take up your time but thorough enough to impart with the practical skills and knowledge you need to start a business!


Zanele Mauka

30 Jul 2018

The start up school has been the perfect platform for me to refine my business skills and scale up my start up!


Shona Macdonald

30 Jul 2018

Marvelous course! Such a mass of valuable learnings and ideas. It was wonderful that it was clearly geared towards individual businesses, not a lot else like this out there. I loved the course's structure with the weekly activities which are specific to key areas of your business (Haha! a unique strategy to getting all your admin done!) The Startup School team is very engaging and helps tailor an approach that fits precisely with your business needs. You will never find an online course that is more concise, more in-depth. I learned a lot & went over the content at least four times. So stocked you're here!


Lucky Lugogwana

30 Jul 2018
For

Entrepreneurs

Apply today
For

Mentors

Become a mentor